State Extension Agents

Alabama

Becky Wasden

Oyster Aquaculture Education Specialist
Auburn University Shellfish Lab
150 Agassiz Street
Dauphin Island, AL 36528

Phone: 504-662-4988
E-mail: beckywasden@auburn.edu
Specialty: Shellfish aquaculture education

Alabama-Mississippi

Rusty Grice

Aquaculture Extension Specialist, Auburn University Shellfish Lab
Mississippi Alabama Sea Grant Consortium
Alabama Cooperative Extension System
Auburn University Educational Complex
21541 Coastal Gateway Boulevard
(County Road 8)
Gulf Shores, AL 36542

Phone: 251-229-0826
Email: rtg0010@auburn.edu

Specialty: Shellfish aquaculture business planning

Connecticut

Tessa Getchis

Connecticut Sea Grant College Program
Sea Grant Extension Program
1084 Shennecossett Rd.
Groton, CT 06340

Phone: 860-405-9104
Fax: 860-405-9109
Email: tessa.getchis@uconn.edu
Specialty: Shellfish and finfish

 

Delaware

Ed Hale

Marine Advisory Specialist
Delaware Sea Grant
University of Delaware
College of Earth, Ocean and Environment
700 Pilottown Road
Lewes, DE 19958-1298

Phone: 302-645-4060
Email: ehale@udel.edu

Specialty: Fisheries and shellfish aquaculture

Delaware

Dennis McIntosh, Ph.D.

Professor & Extension Specialist - Aquaculture
Delaware State University
1200 N. DuPont Hwy.
Dover, DE 19901

Phone: 302-857-6456
Fax: 302-857-6402
E-mail: dmcintosh@desu.edu

Specialty: Aquaculture, finfish, shellfish, water quality, RAS

Florida

Leslie Sturmer

Regional Aquaculture Extension Agent IV
University of Florida / IFAS
Shellfish Aquaculture Extension Program
c/o FWC Marine Field Lab
11350 Southwest 153rd Ct.
Cedar Key, FL 32625

Phone: 352-543-5057
Fax: 352-543-6958
Email: Lnst@ufl.edu
shellfish.ifas.ufl.edu
Specialty: Shellfish culture

Georgia

Thomas Bliss

Shellfish Research Laboratory Director
University of Georgia
Marine Extension Service
20 Ocean Science Circle
Savannah, GA 31411

Phone: 912-598-2348 ext. 205
Fax: 912-598-2399
Email: tbliss@uga.edu
Specialty: Oyster aquaculture and ecology

Louisiana

Brian Callam

Director & Assistant Professor-Research
Louisiana Sea Grant Oyster Research Laboratory
Louisiana Sea Grant College Program
Louisiana State University
219 Renewable Natural Resources Bldg.
Baton Rouge, LA 70803

Phone: 225-578-6527
Email: bcalla3@lsu.edu
Specialty: Shellfish culture

Maine

Dana Morse

Extension Associate
Maine Sea Grant Program
University of Maine Cooperative Extension
Darling Marine Center
193 Clark’s Cove Road
Walpole, ME 04573

Phone: 207-563-3146 ext. 205
Fax: 207-563-3119
Email: Dana.Morse@maine.edu
Specialty: Marine fisheries and shellfish aquaculture

Maine

Brian Beal

Professor of Marine Ecology & Director of the Marine Science Field Station
University of Maine at Machias
116 O'Brien Avenue
Machias, Maine 04654

Phone: 207-255-1314
Fax: 207-255-1390
Email: bbeal@maine.edu
www.downeastinstitute.org

Maryland

Don Webster

Sea Grant Extension
University of Maryland
Wye Research and Education Center
P.O. Box 169
Queenstown, MD 21658

Phone: 410-827-8056
Fax: 410-827-9039
Email: dwebster@umd.edu

Massachusetts

Joe Buttner

Assistant Professor and Aquaculture Program Coordinator
Northeastern Massachusetts Aquaculture Center and Department of Biology
Salem State College
352 Lafayette St.
Salem, MA 01970

Phone: 978-542-6703, 978-542-6824
Fax: 978-542-6863
Email: jbuttner@salemstate.edu
Specialty: finfish, shellfish, water quality.

Massachusetts

Joshua Reitsma

Marine Program Specialist
Cape Cod Cooperative Extension
P.O. Box 367
Barnstable, MA 02630-0367 
Deeds & Probate Building
3195 Main Street
Barnstable, MA 02630
Field Office-3675 Main Street
Barnstable, MA 02630

Phone: 508-375-6950
Fax: 508-362-4518
Email: jreitsma@barnstablecounty.org

 

Massachusetts

Abigail Franklin Archer

Fisheries & Aquaculture Specialist
Cape Cod Cooperative Extension & Woods Hole Sea Grant & Southeastern MA Aquaculture Center (SEMAC)
PO Box 367
3675 Main St.
Barnstable, MA 02630-0367

Phone: 508-375-6702
Email: aarcher@barnstablecounty.org
Specialty: Marine fisheries & shellfish aquaculture

Massachusetts

Harriet Booth

Marine Resource Specialist
Cape Cod Cooperative Extension & Woods Hole Sea Grant & Southeastern MA Aquaculture Center (SEMAC)
PO Box 367
3675 Main St.
Barnstable, MA 02630-0367

Phone: 508-375-6634
Email: harriet.booth@barnstablecounty.org
Specialty: Coastal water quality and shellfish fisheries/aquaculture

 

 

Mississippi

Jason Rider

Aquaculture Extension Agent
Mississippi Department of Marine Resources
1141 Bayview Avenue
Biloxi, MS 39530

Phone: 228-523-4037 (office)
Phone: 228-697-2535 (cell)
Email: jason.rider@dmr.ms.gov
Specialty: Shellfish culture

New Hampshire

Michael Chambers

Marine Aquaculture Specialist
University of New Hampshire
Chase Ocean Engineering Lab
24 Colovos Road
Durham, NH 03824-2500

Phone: 603-862-3394
Fax: 603-862-0107
Email: Michael.Chambers@unh.edu
Specialty: Open ocean aquaculture

New Jersey

Lisa M. Calvo

Rutgers University Aquaculture Program Coordinator
New Jersey Seagrant Consortium Aquaculture Program Coordinator
Haskin Shellfish Research Laboratory
6959 Miller Avenue
Port Norris, NJ 08349

Phone: 856-785-0074 ext. 4302
Fax: 508-362-4518
Email: calvo@hsrl.rutgers.edu

New Jersey

Douglas Zemeckis

Rutgers University
Marine Extension Agent for Ocean, Monmouth, and Atlantic Counties
New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station
Cooperative Extension of Ocean County
Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources
1623 Whitesville Road
Toms River, NJ 08755

Phone: 732-349-1152
Email: zemeckis@njaes.rutgers.edu

New York

Gregg Rivara

Senior Extension Resource Educator
Cornell Cooperative Extension of Suffolk County
3690 Cedar Beach Road
Southold, NY 11971

Phone: 631-852-8660
Fax: 631-852-8662
Email: gjr3@cornell.edu
Specialty: shellfish, finfish aquaculture permitting/startup assistance

North Carolina
Eric Herbst
Coastal Aquaculture Specialist, North Carolina Sea Grant

NC State Center for Marine Sciences and Technology
303 College Circle
Morehead City, NC 28557

Phone: 252-222-6314
Fax: 252-222-6314
Email: echerbst@ncsu.edu

Rhode Island

Skylar Young-Bayer

Assistant Professor 
Regional Aquaculture Extension Specialist
220 CEED
Roger Williams University
One Old Ferry Road
Bristol, RI 02809-2921

Phone: 401-254-3047
Fax: 401 254-3310
Email: syoung-bayer@rwu.edu
Specialty: Aquaculture extension
(Note: Dr. Young-Bayer also covers parts of MA)

Rhode Island

Michael Rice

Dept. of Fisheries, Animal & Vet. Sciences
Woodward Hall
Room 19
University of Rhode Island
Kingston, RI 02881

Phone: 401-874-2943
Fax: 401-874-7575
Email: rice@uriacc.uri.edu
Specialty: shellfish

South Carolina

Graham Gaines

Living Marine Resource Specialist
South Carolina Sea Grant Consortium
18 John Galt Road
Beaufort, S.C. 29906

Phone: 843-473-6026
Cell: 770-540-0315
graham.gaines@scseagrant.org

Texas

Mario Marquez
Aquaculture Specialist
Texas Sea Grant College Program
Texas A&M University
100 Marine Center Drive
Palacios, Texas 77465

Phone: 850-583-6801
Email: mmarquez42@tamu.edu
Specialty: Oyster Aquaculture

Virginia

Karen Hudson

Shellfish Aquaculture Specialist
Sea Grant Marine Extension Program
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
College of William & Mary
P.O. Box 1362
Gloucester Point, VA 23062Phone:  804-684-7742
khudson@vims.edu