Extension Resources

Extension resources encourage the wise stewardship of our marine resources through research, education, outreach and technology transfer.

Connecticut
Tessa S. Getchis Connecticut Sea Grant College Program
Sea Grant Extension Program
1084 Shennecossett Rd.
Groton, CT 06340

Phone: 860-405-9104
Fax: 860- 405-9109
Email: tessa.getchis@uconn.edu
Specialty: Shellfish and finfish
Delaware
John W. Ewart Delaware Aquaculture Resource Center
DE Sea Grant Marine Advisory Service
College of Marine Studies
University of Delaware
700 Pilottown Road
Lewes, DE 19958-1298

Phone: 302-645-4060
Fax: 302-645-4213
Email: ewart@udel.edu
Website: http://darc.cms.udel.edu
Specialty: Shellfish aquaculture; Internet resources; Fisheries
Florida
Leslie Sturmer Aquaculture Extension Agent
University of Florida Cooperative Extension Service
Shellfish Aquaculture Extension Program
C/o FWCC Cedar Key Field Lab
11350 Southwest 153rd Ct.
Cedar Key, FL 32625

Phone: 352-543-5057
Fax: 352-543-6958
Email: lnst@mail.ifas.ufl.edu
Specialty: Shellfish culture
Georgia
Thomas Bliss Director: Shellfish Research Laboratory
University of Georgia
Marine Extension Service
20 Ocean Science Circle
Savannah, GA 31411

Phone: 912-598-2348 ext:205
Fax: 912-598-2399
Email: tbliss@uga.edu
Website: www.marex.uga.edu
Specialty: Oyster aquaculture and ecology
Maine
Dana Morse Extension Associate
Maine Sea Grant Program
University of Maine Cooperative Extension
Darling Marine Center
193 Clark’s Cove Road
Walpole, ME 04573

Phone: 207-563-3146 ext. 205
Fax: 207-563-3119
Email:Dana.Morse@maine.edu
Specialty: Marine fisheries and shellfish aquaculture
Maryland
Don Webster Sea Grant Extension
University of Maryland
Wye Research and Education Center
P.O. Box 169
Queenstown, MD 21658

Phone: 410-827-8056
Fax: 410-827-9039
Email: dwebster@umd.edu
Massachusetts
Joe Buttner Assistant Professor and Aquaculture Program Coordinator
Northeastern Massachusetts Aquaculture Center and Department of Biology
Salem State College
352 Lafayette St., Salem, MA 01970

Phone: 978-542-6703, 978-542-6824
Fax: 978-542-6863
Email:jbuttner@salemstate.edu
Specialty: finfish, shellfish, water quality.

Joshua Reitsma Marine Program Specialist
Cape Cod Cooperative Extension
P.O. Box 367
Barnstable, MA 02630-0367
Deeds & Probate Building
3195 Main Street
Barnstable, MA 02630
Field Office-3675 Main Street
Barnstable, MA 02630

Phone: (508) 375-6950
Fax: (508) 362-4518
Email: jreitsma@barnstablecounty.org

Diane Murphy Cape Cod Cooperative Extension
Deeds & Probate Building
Railroad Avenue
P.O. Box 367
Barnstable MA 02630-0367

Phone: 508-375-6953
Fax: (508) 362-4518
Email: dmurphy@barnstablecounty.org
Specialty:Marine Specialist
New Hampshire
Mike Chambers Marine Aquaculture Specialist
University of New Hampshire
Chase Ocean Engineering Lab
24 Colovos Road
Durham, NH 03824-2500.

Phone: (603) 862-3394
Fax: (603) 862-0107
Email:Michael.Chambers@unh.edu
Specialty: Open Ocean Aquaculture
New Jersey
Gef Flimlin Marine Extension Agent
Rutgers Cooperative Extension of Ocean County
1623 Whitesville Rd.
Toms River, NJ 08755

Phone: 732-349-1152
Fax: 732-505-8941
Email: flimlin@aesop.rutgers.edu
Specialty: Shellfish culture
Lisa M. Calvo Aquaculture Extension Program Coordinator
Haskin Shellfish Research Laboratory
6959 Miller Avenue
Port Norris, NJ 08349

Phone: (856) 785-0074 ext.4302
Fax: (508) 362-4518
Email: calvo@hsrl.rutgers.edu
New York
Gregg Rivara Senior Extension Resource Educator
Cornell Cooperative Extension of Suffolk County
3690 Cedar Beach Road
Southold, NY 11971

Phone: (631) 852-8660
Fax: (631) 852-8662
Email:gjr3@cornell.edu
Specialty: shellfish, finfish aquaculture permitting/startup assistance
North Carolina
Chuck Weirich, Ph.D. Marine Aquaculture Specialist
NC State Center for Marine Sciences and Technology
303 College Circle
Morehead City, NC 28557

Phone: (252) 222-6314
Fax: (252) 222-6314
Email: chuck_weirich@ncsu.edu
Rhode Island
Dale Leavitt Assistant Professor
Regional Aquaculture Extension Specialist
220 CEED
Roger Williams University
One Old Ferry Road
Bristol, RI 02809-2921

Phone: 401-254-3047
Fax: 401 254-3310
Pager: 508 899-5910
Email: leavitt@rwu.edu
Specialty: Aquaculture extension
(Note: Dr. Leavitt also covers parts of MA)

Michael Rice Dept. of Fisheries, Animal & Vet. Sciences
Woodward Hall Rm 19
University of Rhode Island
Kingston, RI 02881

Phone: (401) 874-2943
Fax: (401) 874-7575
Email: rice@uriacc.uri.edu
Specialty: shellfish
South Carolina
Julie Davis Living Marine Resources Extension Specialist
South Carolina Sea Grant Consortium
102 Industrial Village Rd.
Beaufort, SC 29906

Phone: (843) 255-6060 ext. 112
E-mail:julie.davis@scseagrant.org
Virginia
Karen Hudson Shellfish Aquaculture Specialist
Sea Grant Marine Extension Program
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
College of William & Mary
P.O. Box 1362
Gloucester Point, VA 23062

Phone 804-684-7742
khudson@vims.edu